University of the Philippines Los Baños

UPLB will soon have a presence down south, in the country’s banana capital.

This is through the establishment of the UP Professional School for Agriculture and the Environment (UP PSAE) in Anflo City, Panabo, Davao del Norte, which the UP Board of Regents (BOR) approved at its 1322nd meeting on Nov. 24.

This UPLB extension campus aims to provide UP education within the reach of students, accelerate human capital formation, and serve as a catalyst for development in the Davao Region.

“With its proven capacities in agriculture and environmental science, UPLB is positioned to contribute immensely to development efforts in the Davao Region and neighboring communities,” articulated by the document explaining the rationale of the newly approved UP PSAE.

The UP PSAE will progress in two phases.

The first phase covering its first five years will see the offering of off-campus graduate programs and short training courses starting the First Semester of Academic Year (AY) 2017-2018 ,with the formal opening of the campus the AY after. The UPLB Graduate School shall supervise the UP PSAE, through a program director, during this phase.

The second phase, on the other hand, will start on its sixth year. This would be a time when the UP PSAE shall become a new school of UPLB, with its own dean and residential graduate programs.

A budget of PhP271 million shall be allocated for UP PSAE’s first 11 years, while the Anflo Management and Investment Corporation (ANFLOCOR) will donate about three hectares of land and capital outlay for the infrastructure.

ANFLOCOR’s donation of land and construction of relevant structures for the future school are articulated in the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between UP and ANFLOCOR dated Nov. 20, 2014. The MOU also provides for a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) which shall detail the partnership between the two institutions, and which will be signed early next year. (Mark Jayson E. Gloria, with reports from the UP PSAE Proposal written by Assistant Professors Anna Floresca F. Firmalino and Arlene C. Gutierrez)