University of the Philippines Los Baños



              Dr. Teodoro C. Mendoza, Professor 12 and UP Scientist 1 at the Crop Science Cluster, College of Agriculture (CA-CSC), has bagged the Association of Agricultural Technology in Southeast Asia (AATSEA) Award for Agricultural Excellent Leader 2015.

               The Thailand-based organization of Southeast Asian scientists confirmed this through a letter to Dr. Mendoza dated Oct. 20, 2015. The awarding rites will take place during the 4th International Conference on Integration of Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in Hanoi, Vietnam on Nov. 27-28.

In his nomination letter, Dr. Leon O. Namuco, professor at the CA-CSC, emphasized Dr. Mendoza’s advocacy on organic and sustainable agriculture and highlighted his 30 years of experience in working with civil society to promote sustainable agriculture and rural development in both the upland and lowland areas. This includes his co-founding of the farmer-scientist partnership Magsasaka at Siyentipiko para sa Pag-unlad ng Agrikultura (MASIPAG) in 1986. As of 2013, MASIPAG already has 30,000 farmer members and has collected and maintained more than 1,300 traditional rice varieties.

               “Dr. Mendoza is one of the leading advocates and practitioners of small-scale diversified organic agriculture in the Philippines. Having been born to a small farming household motivated him to do actual farming. He does not simply preach, but walks the talk,” explained Dr. Namuco.

As a faculty member, Dr. Mendoza has successfully instituted courses on farming systems, ecological agriculture, and the special topic on energetics of crop agriculture. He has published 71 papers, including 27 ISI journal articles. During his stint as its chair of the board of editors, the Philippine Journal of Crop Science received its ISI accreditation in 2009.

He represents the academic community to the Board of Trustees of the Philippine Rice Research Institute. He has also been awarded with the SEARCA Professorial Chair for AY 2015-2016. In 2010, the Climate Change Commission bestowed upon him the Fr. Neri Satur Award for Environmental Heroism.

Dr. Mendoza earned his BS Agriculture and MS Agronomy from UPLB in 1976 and 1979, respectively. He obtained his Ph.D. in Agronomy from UPLB and the University of Florida, USA in 1985. (Mark Jayson E. Gloria)